Search Constituencies :
  • Like on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Goole Plus



An Encylopedia of Jokes.
Add, Share and Enjoy

Download App for Free


Home > Election Analysis > Opposition gives tough time to BJP in Assembly Elections

Opposition gives tough time to BJP in Assembly Elections

The recent results of the by polls of assembly seats from UP, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Sikkim, Assam, Tripura, West Bengal, Andhra and Telengana coupled with the results of Bihar and MP a few weeks ago have put the BJP in the back foot. It has soured the 100 days celebrations of the Modi government. The honeymoon with the Janta seems to have ended and already the hype around the Modi or BJP wave has got a drubbing and things seem to be back to normal where each party has to carefully play its cards in the upcoming state elections. BJP is no longer invincible has to work its way up once again.

The ruling Samajwadi Party made a stunning comeback in Uttar Pradesh as it won eight of the 11 assembly seats that went for by-elections. It also won the Manipuri Lok Sabha seat which was held by party Chief Mulayam Singh Yadav.

The only relief for the BJP, that had won all these 11 seats with its ally Apna Dal in the 2012 assembly polls, was its victories in Noida, Saharanpur City and Lucknow East.

In Gujarat the BJP won six assembly seats, where Modi was chief minister for around 13 years till he came to the centre, while the Congress won three. The BJP also won the Lok Sabha seat from Vadodara constituency by over 300,000 votes. Deputy mayor Ranjanben Bhatt defeated Congress candidate Narendra Rawat. The seat fell vacant after Modi chose to retain his Varanasi seat.

In Gujarat, by polls were held for nine assembly seats - Maninagar, Deesa, Tankara, Khambhalia, Mangrol, Talaja, Anand, Matar and Limkheda. The Vadodara Lok Sabha seat was also fought on the poll date Sep 13.

Congress won from Deesa, Khambhalia and Mangrol assembly seats, while the remaining six seats were won by BJP.

For the BJP, the turnaround in fortunes was most severe in Rajasthan as it was the ruling party but won only one seat, where the Congress won three of the four assembly seats. The BJP won the Kota South seat, while the Congress won from Weir, Surajgarh and Nasirabad.

Lok Sabha member Badaruddin Ajmal's AIUDF party won one assembly seat each, in Assam. BJP snatched away the Silchar assembly constituency from the Congress, while the ruling Congress won the Lakhipur seat and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) won the Jamunamukh seat in Nagaon constituency.

The ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh won the Nandigama assembly seat by a vast majority. In Telangana, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) reserved the Medak Lok Sabha seat, though with a lesser majority as compared to the general elections.

In Sikkim, the lone Rangang-Yangang constituency was won by seat Independent candidate R.N. Chamling, who is the Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling's brother.

The ruling CPI-M won its seat in the Manu (ST) assembly constituency In Tripura, defeated the Congress in the bypoll.

Results for 32 assembly seats across nine states were declared on 16th September 2014.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, countering to the emphatic win of his party in the bypolls termed it a victory of development and prosperity and said the people have rejected the communal brand of politics of the BJP.

BJP chief of the state Laxmikant Bajpai accepted defeat and said the party will have to take stock of the reasons for its defeat. . The BJP had swept to power captivating 163 seats in the 2013 elections in the state.

The Rajasthan unit of the Congress was jubilant over winning three of the four seats.

The results take the BJP's strength to 160 and the Congress strength has risen to 24.

The Congress claimed that the results of the bypolls were a good signal for the party and reflected that people were unhappy with the policies of the BJP.

Congress spokesperson Shakeel Ahmed said that though the party did not achieve to expectations in Uttar Pradesh, but had done well in Rajasthan and Gujarat.

The bypolls held in Uttarakhand after the general elections in the first round, the Congress had won all the three assembly seats, while in the second round, the BJP had lost six out of 10 assembly seats in Bihar.

topdown Back to Top
© 2021 All Rights Reserved.