Search Constituencies :
  • Like on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Goole Plus



An Encylopedia of Jokes.
Add, Share and Enjoy

Download App for Free


Home > Delhi > Rohtas Nagar


Delhi Election Results 2015 - Rohtas Nagar

Winner Runnerup
Sarita Singh (AAP ) Jitender Mahajan (BJP )

Rohtas Nagar is one of the 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi. Sarita Singh (AAP) has won the Assembly election 2015, got 62,209 votes against Jitender Mahajan BJP), who has 54,335 votes.

Votes polled on Feb 7 and the results was announced on Feb 10, 2015.

Jitender Kumar of the BJP is the incumbent MLA from Rohtas Nagar assembly seat which he wrested from the Congress in 2013 by defeating his nearest rival Mukesh Hooda of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) by a good margin of 14943 votes. While Jitender Kumar polled 49916 votes, the AAP nominee received 34973 votes.

The sitting Congress MLA Vipin Sharma, who had won the seat in 2009 in a bye-poll, was reduced to the third position with 32156 votes and was distantly followed by the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Daya Shankar Bhardwaj who received 2076 votes.

Vipin Sharma had defeated Divya Jayaswal of the BJP by a huge margin of 23,549 votes in the 2009 bye-poll which was necessitated due the death of the incumbent Congress MLA Ram Babu Sharma.

In 2008, Rohtas Nagar, one of the seventy assembly seats, was retained by Ram Babu Sharma by defeating the BJP candidate Alok Kumar by a margin of 13243 votes. While 38360 votes were polled in favour of Ram Babu Sharma, a former Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) president, Alok Kumar secured 32559 votes. Lokesh Dikshit, the BSP nominee, came third with 16823 votes.

In the previous assembly elections in 2003 elections of Delhi Legislative assembly, Ram Babu Sharma had won the seat for the Congress by defeating former BJP MLA Alok Kumar by a margin of 6363 votes. In 1998 assembly polls, which inaugurated the Sheila Dixit government in Delhi, Rohtas Nagar went in favour of Radhey Shyam Khanna who emerged victorious by defeating the sitting BJP legislator Alok Kumar by a margin of 167 votes.

Alok Kumar was the winner of the ROHTAS NAGAR assembly seat in the first elections to the Delhi legislative assembly held in 1993. He won the seat by defeating Babu Krishan Lal of the Congress by a margin of 7816 votes.

Rohtas Nagar assembly constituency is one of the ten assembly constituencies that unite to form the parliamentary constituency of North East Delhi which is currently represented by Manoj Tiwari of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest AAP rival Anand Kumar by 1,44,084 votes in last Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Rohtas Nagar Election News

AAP's Mohinder Goyal tops ranking chart of Delhi legislators

Posted On : Aug 29,2018,    1:12 am
New Delhi, Aug 29 (IANS) Mohinder Goyal, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)'s MLA from Rithala in Delhi, ranked highest based on the issues raised in the Delhi Assembly, while Sarita Singh from Rohtas Nagar ranked lowest, according to "Delhi MLA Report Card" released by Praja Foundation on Tuesday. View More..

AAP slams civic body for Mall at health centre

Posted On : Feb 20,2017,    7:58 pm
New Delhi, Feb 20 (IANS) The AAP on Monday slammed the North Delhi Municipal Corporation for proposing to develop a shopping complex on the premises of a maternity and child healthcare centre in the capital. View More..

Complaint of bribery against AAP MLA

Posted On : Sep 17,2016,    11:36 pm
New Delhi, Sep 17 (IANS) A complaint was filed against AAP legislator Sarita Singh for taking a bribe of Rs 9 lakh from party workers on the pretext of providing them government jobs, police said on Saturday. View More..

Marked pollution drop this New Year: Delhi government

Posted On : Jan 02,2016,    7:12 pm
New Delhi, Jan 2 (IANS) After the capital city opted for a test run of the odd-even scheme, pollution levels on New Year day showed a "marked" decrease compared with the previous year, the Delhi government said on Saturday. View More..

Only six women make it to Delhi assembly

Posted On : Feb 10,2015,    7:48 pm
New Delhi, Feb 10 (IANS) The 70-member strong Delhi assembly will have just six women legislators -- all from the Aam Aadmi Party, which has won 67 of the seats. View More..

Repolling at two poll booths in Delhi

Posted On : Feb 09,2015,    10:28 am
New Delhi, Feb 9 (IANS) Repolling was held Monday at two booths for the Delhi assembly after anomaly was found in EVM machines, officials said Monday. View More..

Kejriwal asks Delhi supporters to help in Varanasi, Amethi

Posted On : Apr 03,2014,    8:48 pm
New Delhi, April 3 (IANS) AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal Thursday appealed to his supporters in Delhi, where his party was born and where he was chief minister for 49 days, to come to Uttar Pradesh's Varanasi and Amethi constituencies for campaigning with him to defeat BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi. View More..

topdown Back to Top
© 2019 All Rights Reserved.