BJP, Cong win nine seats each in MP urban body elections

BJP, Cong win nine seats each in MP urban body elections

Bhopal, Jan 20 (IANS) The Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won nine seats each, while one was bagged by an Independent candidate in the elections to 19 urban body seats in Madhya Pradesh held on Saturday.

According to the state election office, BJP candidate Kavita Vaishnav from the Pithampur Municipality seat in Dhar district posted the biggest victory margin of 22,000 votes, while Congress candidate from Sardarpur, Mahesh, won with the lowest margin of 1,065 votes.

"The BJP has won municipality seats in Pithampur, Kukshi, Dhamnod, Dahi in Dhar; Pansemal, Rajpur, Palsud and Sendhwa in Barwani district; and in Khandwa's Omkareshwar area," said an election office release.

"Congress has won Dhar, Dharampuri, Manawar, Sardarpur, Rajgarh in Dhar district; Barwani, Anjad and Khetia in Barwani; and Raghogarh in Guna district," the release said.

Navratni Shukla, an Independent candidate won the Jaithari seat in Anuppur district, it added.

For the Councillor post, 194 candidate of BJP, 145 of Congress and 13 Independent candidates were declared winner in the 19 municipalities.

  • Like on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Goole Plus