Search Constituencies :
  • Like on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Goole Plus

    Election Poll 2017

Which party will form goverment in Karnataka ?




An Encylopedia of Jokes.
Add, Share and Enjoy

Download App for Free


Roy elected Meghalaya Assembly Speaker

Shillong, March 12 (IANS) Former Chief Minister Donkupar Roy of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government was on Monday elected Speaker of the Meghalaya Assembly.

Roy, the longest serving legislator and senior-most member of the Assembly, has been elected for the seventh consecutive term.

He is also the President of the United Democratic Party, a key partner in the National People's Party-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance coalition.

Of the 56 members who voted, Roy got 35 votes while Winnerson polled 20 votes. One vote was rejected, Protem Speaker Timothy Dalbot Shira announced.

Khun HynAiewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) legislator Adelbert Nongrum was conspicuous by his absence.

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma couldn't vote as he is not an elected member of the Assembly. Leader of Opposition Mukul Sangma, who won from both Ampati and Songsak, voted from Ampati seat.

"I will try my best to perform my duty as the Speaker. I will be a neutral speaker as all of you expect me to be," Roy said.

The soft-spoken economist was first elected from Shella constituency along the India-Bangladesh border as an Independent in 1988 with the ardent support of the then Alliance Reconstruction of Meghalaya State, a political body of the Khasi Students Union.

Congratulating Roy for being elected as Speaker, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said: "The ruling side will miss you in the government. We look upto you as our fatherly figure but we will not guide your guidance in the government."

Praising Roy, former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma said: "The post is occupied by a person who is infallible."



topdown Back to Top
© 2018 All Rights Reserved.